🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I filled my Tax information but Upwork still ...
Page options
makirziad
Community Member

I filled my Tax information but Upwork still asks me to complete it

Hello, I am a freelancer on Upwork, specializing in Voice Over services.
I started working on the platform roughly 3-4 months ago.
Today, Upwork sent me a message asking me to complete my Tax information.
I did, I filled the entire form, but I still have the same message.
Did I do something wrong? Is it a bug?
If I can get a moderator to check my account, I'd be really grateful!
Thank you for your help!

11 REPLIES 11
mdbutnayem
Community Member

Hello Ziad,
You should talk to Upwork Support directly

ArjayM

Hi Ziad,

I took a closer look at your account and you're correct, I can also confirm that it's your Tax Information has been completed. Please note that completing these forms is required to prove you are not a U.S. citizen and do not need to pay U.S. income taxes. Without this proof, the IRS requires that we withhold 30% of your future earnings to pay for income taxes. 

As long as a new W-8BEN/W-8BEN-E form is filled out completely, we’re not required to withhold at this rate. You're all set! You should also have the option to Get Paid as long as you have an active and valid Payment Method.

~ Arjay
Upwork
d3a3e6b3
Community Member

Hi Arjay,

I am encountering the same problem as I am not a US resident neither am I a resident of any tax paying country,
Upwork will charge VAT fee on any invoices created. If you are registered for VAT in your country, you can enter a valid VAT ID here to be exempted from paying VAT. 
I completed all of the given forms and put legitimate info. Thank you!
-Adrians

Hi Adrians,