🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » About Contacting a Client Outside of Upwork
Page options
viiexplorer
Community Member

About Contacting a Client Outside of Upwork

Hello!  I'm new to the Upwork world of freelancing and in need of a bit of advice from the experienced and veterans.

If a new client posts their web address, hasn't viewed any proposals (mine included, as I sent it very late), and looks as if they might not proceed with the writing project, am I allowed to contact them (via their website) once they cancel the project on Upwork?

I would inquire whether if they got a chance to look over the proposal. 

Since their work is very, very niche, and I'm familiar with the industry, I was wondering whether if freelancers are allowed to encourage clients back onto Upwork.

Would welcome any advice and feedback.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "About Contacting a Client Outside of Upwork"

It is FINE to communicate with an Upwork client outside of Upwork.

It is AGAINST UPWORK RULES to communicate with a PROSPECTIVE client outside of Upwork.

If you are talking with a prospective client (somebody who has not hired you yet), then all communication must take place within the Upwork platform.

AFTER you hae been officially hired, you may use any method you want to communicate with the client.

But keep in mind:

You are NEVER ALLOWED to Google or otherwise search for contact informatoin for a client and communicate with the client using direct contact information that he didn't provide you with. This rule is in effect even AFTER being hired. If a client GIVES you his email address to communicate with him, then you may email him. But if you SEARCH for the client's email address, you may NOT use that email address to communicate with him.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "About Contacting a Client Outside of Upwork"

It is FINE to communicate with an Upwork client outside of Upwork.