🐈
» Forums » New to Upwork » TRANSLATION JOBS
Page options
459b8ad4
Community Member

TRANSLATION JOBS

Good afternoon, I've sent many proposals for interesting jobs on the platform, but every answer asked me to contact them on telegram.

I 've understood that this is a violation, am I right?

are there any exceptions?

Thanks a lot for your response

6 REPLIES 6
868e3f4a
Community Member

Giovanna L good morning, I did fall, I am a total newbie to working with upwork, I am surprised that they made me chat on telegram, 2 companies in 4 days contacted me, as I still do not understand what this employment system is like, I know that the conversations start in the app's chat and from there the contracts begin and the payment must be received through themselves and not by external entities, thank goodness I saw your comment in the forum.
First red flag... communication via telegram
second red flag... I give an amount for my services per hour and they stupidly offered me something much higher than what I charged??
third red flag... I do the transcription/translation work for one and simple transcription for the other, one of them paid me for a strange page that I already investigated and a SCAM page, **Edited for Community Guidelines** WHICH REQUIRED ME TO PAY A $100 PIN TO BE ABLE TO RECEIVE MY MONEY and the other by a direct transfer (because I delivered the work almost the same day) and today when that payment should fall it tells me that the IRS is withholding the transfer until I pay $70 IN TAXES!!
As I am a computer technician, I have done some remote repairs or maintenance via Tean Viewer for the United States and the United Kingdom AND MY MONEY ALWAYS ARRIVES WITHOUT PROBLEMS, yes, they charge me a commission but the system charges it automatically!