🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Possible Scam: Live Chat Representative for *...
Page options
05142ebf
Community Member

Possible Scam: Live Chat Representative for **Edited**

I'm new to Upwork and one role I've applied for is Live Chat Representative for **Edited for Community Guidelines**. I got a message requesting I start onboarding and do background check supposedly through ID.me and to email HR separately from **Edited for Community Guidelines** I replied and said I was unsure about engaging off the platform. She replied this was their usual process.

I emailed them and was asked for my phone number to have HR send me a text to proceed. This seemed odd so I did a little research. Their email domain goes to a site newly setup -- **Edited for Community Guidelines**-- and it appears similar to **Edited for Community Guidelines**but is not. The client's job description shows it as being in Hospitality. 

Anyone else had contact with them for this or any other role?

28 REPLIES 28
the-right-writer
Community Member

As soon as anyone wants you outside of Upwork, before an Upwork contract is in place, it's a scam. When you saw they wanted you to communicate with email and HR, you should have explained the Terms of Service and offered to help them draw up a contract. If they refuse or suddenly cut communication, report to Upwork, and move on.

Because you don't know or aren't following the Terms of Service, not only will you be scammed, but you can lose your Upwork account permanently. Before you even look at jobs, you need to learn the rules or else you will only be scammed. You don't need to research; you need to follow the rules. Scammers often use real names and business - it's a scam, after all.

If you want to freelance, you need to start at the beginning. Stop looking for jobs because you are completely unprepared. Your profile is private, but I know what's there, and you have a lot of work to do. Read this post, follow ever single link, and learn.