🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Upwork Trust and safety
Page options
Community Member

Upwork Trust and safety

Dear All , 

I am fairly new to Upwork,  This was my first dispute and I have no idea  about the process of disputes ....I want to understand the process - one of my clients disputed the payment , even after me submitting the entire work - I disputed back , He left a feedback about me an I left a feedback about him. 

I was 4.9 rating , JSS 96 % , prior to the dispute and because of this dispute , I lost JSS by 5% and star rating  and earnings of 422$

Recently I received an email from UPWORK trust & safety team , that they are investigating the matter on my feedback for the client ,asking for evidence to substantiate my feedback on Client?

I want to understand ,  Is this the process , as I am new I have no idea of the process, and as next time I will be careful, not to dispute or give my honest feedback

many thanks for helping me understand 

8 REPLIES 8
wlyonsatl
Community Member

If you left honest, accurate and professional feedback for a client, just tell Upwork the facts of your engagement experience with the client. 

Upwork uses a double-blind rating process, which means you can't see your client's feedback until you leave feedback for the client or the 14-day period for leaving feedback is over. And vice versa.

Upwork says it does this in order to get honest feedback from both freelancer and client. As a freelancer, I need to be able to rely on other freelancers' feedback on a potential client because Upwork provides little information about clients' history on Upwork (such as disputes, job cancellations, etc.). We freelancers have to tell each other about what a particular client is like to work with.

Community Member